kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Benching > All Things Modding

All Things Modding Soldering, deciphering datasheets, tricks and tips...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2010, 04:47 PM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default ATI 5870 bios flasher tool by evocarlos

hey guys so now having a 5870 and the need to flash the bios i have converted my flasher menu from nvid to ati

it looks like this and is easy to use

#1 -to backup the stock bios
#2 -to flash the msi unlocked bios (included in zip)
#3 -to restore the stock bios (requires the bios to be backedup 1st)
#4 -to see atiflash command line inputs
#5 -to exit to a dos prompt

it can be run from a bootable usb pen and by changeing it to the ati flasher direcotry(cd ati flasher) then by typing 5870 and pressing enter

result
before (stock ati bios)__________________________________after (unlocked msi bios)
see how left is ATI and right is MSI


the menu on its own is harmless
but option 2-3 in the menu will change the bios on your gpu that is found in location -0 (first slot)

on that note if the card becomes a brick from the use of this menu then on you head be it i will take no resposably
i made this menu purelly for convience

make sure you back up you bios with gpu-z 1st so you have a 2nd copy of you bios elsewhere if ever you need to recover the stock bios

the ati flasher can be downloaded from here

http://rapidshare.com/files/332327631/ATI_flasher.zip
and here
http://st-gaming.co.uk/ATI_flasher.zip

thanks carl..

edit:- the msi unlocked bios lets you push more clock's in the CCC the stock bios is locked to 900 / 1200 the msi unlocked bios is much much more

Last edited by Evocarlos; 01-08-2010 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2010, 05:10 PM
crustytheclown's Avatar
crustytheclown crustytheclown is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Nice job man!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:09 AM
k|ngp|n's Avatar
k|ngp|n k|ngp|n is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,032
Default

Thanx for sharing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:13 AM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crustytheclown View Post
Nice job man!!!
thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by k|ngp|n View Post
Thanx for sharing.
no problem i was somthing i made a few years ago for the 8800gt but just moded the code to fit ati
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-09-2010, 11:30 AM
Shammy Shammy is offline
Liquid Nitrogen
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 867
Default

good stuff sir!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-10-2010, 10:15 AM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shammy View Post
good stuff sir!
thanks shammy

just to note with the Msi bios the core max is 1600 and ram is 2600 a little over the top but as you can see its unlocked ive also found that theres no need to modified the .cfg file in msi afterbuner to set higher clocks
it can be left on 0
[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking = 0
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:04 AM
steponz steponz is offline
Dry Ice
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 287
Default

Whats the difference/benefit from using the atiflash tool?
__________________


I love eraser..................
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2010, 11:14 AM
Evocarlos's Avatar
Evocarlos Evocarlos is offline
Sub-Ambient
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: by the lamp
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steponz View Post
Whats the difference/benefit from using the atiflash tool?
hey
its more of a convience
its easyer than typing the fash codes in manually
with this menu you can backup and flash you bios with just a couple of key presses

as for an overclocking point of view normally the stock bios core speed is fix'd to 900mhz core with the msi bios included the fix'd core speed in ccc is removed so you can overclock higher

and if you slap some real cold on it then you can push even more

also when your done you can load the menu and put the stock bios back on the card restoring it back to stock..

carl..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2010, 08:07 PM
Kriztoffer Kriztoffer is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Default

Nice work man! Think I will try it out.

A question, is there any option to get more than 1.35v max in MSI Afterburner?

Regards Kriztoffer
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2010, 05:50 AM
r1ch's Avatar
r1ch r1ch is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 46
Default

Use Asus SmartDoctor instead
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.