kingpincooling.com

Go Back   kingpincooling.com > Overclocking & Benching > TiN's Dungeon

TiN's Dungeon The mad engineer's home at KPC..

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 06-13-2011, 02:30 PM
knopflerbruce's Avatar
knopflerbruce knopflerbruce is offline
PURE
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 418
Default

Need mods for this card

http://i56.tinypic.com/s6sjsh.jpg

http://i55.tinypic.com/27xjbxx.jpg

MSI GTX260 OC (216sp)
Not sure what mods needed, but vGPU and vMEM are important U guess... no idea if there's any OCP or OVP on these cards.

Reason: want to bench the shit out of it Also 99.9% sure the 216sp cards cant use the vt1165 plugin.

[ *]What VRM controller does your hardware run? (Label of chip or good macro shot for coded labeling)
[ *]What is stock voltage of VRM output / OCP/OVP trip point?

Which chip is the VRM controller?
__________________

Quote:
bobo, the 5870 lightning you shot, did you save the stock cooler ?

Last edited by knopflerbruce; 06-13-2011 at 06:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 06-13-2011, 03:58 PM
0skill's Avatar
0skill 0skill is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Mod request #0005
[ *]Which hardware do you need to mod?
Mainboard
[ *]Hardware model label?
Gigabyte GA P35 DQ6
[ *]What do you need?
OCP mod, switching frequency, maybe ovp
[ *]What VRM controller does your hardware run?
Intersil ISL6327 http://www.intersil.com/data/fn/fn9276.pdf
[ *]Describe you issues, why you need that mod? Maybe it's not worth doing?
CPUz benching with some nice Cedar Mill chips
OCP kicked me out benching my Cedar Mill CPUs all over 7,2GHz will end after some sec in an ocp shut down :\:\:\

Planned mods:
Increasing the input current by soldering a 2nd joke to input (same as stock one) and adding some caps
changing resistor on pin42=FS from 81k to 40k to rais up switching frequency
from 308kHz to 624kHz

Im not sure if pin44=OVP is performed resistance from pin to Gnd =358K
doesen`t found a resistor so i think OVP is just enabled by VID but with normal FB mod a startup with 1,75 Vcore(celeron 352) is posible and raising VCC with VR in windows to 1,92 also works all over 1,92 kicked me out
will be able to raise VCC as high as possible

but i`m not sure with the ocp mod
there are 2 current sensing parts
first one is at pin11=Iout (current sense output on page 20) resistance between pin and Gnd=18,62k
so just need to rais up resistance for raising up OCP limit?
or ist there a need to mod each phase for channel current sensing?

sec. mod req.
i got a crappy Thermaltake Toughpower 1500W PSU and shorted the four 12V rails to get 1 big rail but after that psu wouldn`t be stable on high load
so i desolder it and just shorted two rail to get 2rails each with 60 amps
also unstable
but I can`t find any chip for current sensing
what could be the problem?

thx for help anyway
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06-13-2011, 06:50 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Happy engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

OCP = Reduce R(Iout) from 18.62k to 14k.
OVP pin just output monitoring, it does nothing to OVP itself. But you can disconnect it from motherboard to be sure (just cut trace from VRM cntrlr).
OVP on this PWM is hardfixed to 150mV above VID. So only way is to play with DAC/VDIFF signals

But better to use another motherboadr for cedars

Quote:
Thermaltake Toughpower 1500W
Two psu model inside? If yes, forget about it, it's flawed by design.
If not - just trace where routing go from current shunts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 06-13-2011, 07:51 PM
0skill's Avatar
0skill 0skill is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 123
Default

ok
but why to reduce R Iout what didn`t i understande ?
i know that this board isn`t the best but my comando died a few weeks ago
today they are realy rare in EU

thermalcrapp two psu design
next time i`ll buy a enermax HCP

thx for help
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06-13-2011, 09:15 PM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Happy engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

OCP trip when voltage threshold reach 2V Your task is not to let it get there
Comando is worst ever board for cedarmill from my personal opinion
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 06-14-2011, 08:33 AM
Nickolaos's Avatar
Nickolaos Nickolaos is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ioannina,Greece
Posts: 4
Default

Mod request #0006
VGA
SAPPHIRE 6970 V2.0
OCP MOD,MORE VOLTAGE FOR THE CORE AND MEM
Under phase change,wanting some more mhz
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 06-14-2011, 09:52 AM
Quake's Avatar
Quake Quake is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 121
Send a message via MSN to Quake
Default

You have to post pictures of it
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 06-14-2011, 10:14 AM
Nickolaos's Avatar
Nickolaos Nickolaos is offline
Ambient
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ioannina,Greece
Posts: 4
Default

It uses chill 8228g instead of volltera

Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 06-14-2011, 11:10 AM
TiN's Avatar
TiN TiN is offline
Happy engineer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Taipei
Posts: 1,237
Send a message via ICQ to TiN Send a message via Skype™ to TiN
Default

Imageshack banned here, please photos upload to my server.

Quote:
Note2: As storage for high-res photos from you - i'd appreciate if you upload them on my ftp. I hate free image hostings, so would like not to see them.
My ftp available for any overclocker - ftp.xdevs.com, login and password are "guest" without " symbol. Use folder KPC_mods there please. Thank you.
I don't have any Radeons, so photo is critical to help you
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 06-14-2011, 05:53 PM
0skill's Avatar
0skill 0skill is offline
Sub-Zero
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiN View Post
OCP trip when voltage threshold reach 2V Your task is not to let it get there
Comando is worst ever board for cedarmill from my personal opinion
thx now i understand
maybe i misconceived the datasheet
i`ve read it about 15 times up and down

what was your choice for cedarmill?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
modifications, request of support, vmods


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.

Contact Us - www.kingpincooling.com - Archive - Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3 Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.